Shostakovitsh, Dmitri: Orchestral Studies for Percussion

Product no.: 050-089
Price incl. VAT, plus Shipping

As is well known, Dmitri Shostakovich's orchestral works include a rich array of percussion instruments. In some works, the tympani, bass drum, snare drum, tam-tam, xylophone and glockenspiel serve to lend support not only to Shostakovich's scherzo movements - which often contain a sharpness bordering on the grotesque - but to the frequently roaring violence of his revolutionary music as well. For percussionists, Shostakovich's orchestral works are as beloved as they are redoubtable. Excerpts from the great symphonies are often required playing at auditions.

The new edition “Orchestral Studies for Percussionists,” is a compendium of selected excerpts from Symphonies Nos. 1 to 15, the 1st Violin Concerto, the 2nd Cello Concerto and the operas “Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk,” Op. 29 and “The Nose,” Op. 15.


Sinfonie Nr. 1 (Symphony No. 1)
Sinfonie Nr. 2 (Symphony No. 2)
Sinfonie Nr. 3 (Symphony No. 3)
Sinfonie Nr. 4 (Symphony No. 4)
Sinfonie Nr. 5 (Symphony No. 5)
Sinfonie Nr. 6 (Symphony No. 6)
Sinfonie Nr. 7 (Symphony No. 7)
Sinfonie Nr. 8 (Symphony No. 8)
Sinfonie Nr. 9 (Symphony No. 9)
Sinfonie Nr. 10 (Symphony No. 10)
Sinfonie Nr. 11 (Symphony No. 11)
Sinfonie Nr. 12 (Symphony No. 12)
Sinfonie Nr. 13 (Symphony No. 13)
Sinfonie Nr. 14 (Symphony No. 14)
Sinfonie Nr. 15 (Symphony No. 15)
Konzert für Violine und Orchester Nr. 1 (Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No. 1)
Konzert für Violoncello und Orchester Nr. 2 (Concerto for Violoncello and Orchestra No. 2)
Lady Macbeth von Mzensk (Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District)
Die Nase (The Nose)

Browse this category: Orchestral Studies